Go to footer

Interview with "The Fighting Irish" Rhia O'Reilly

Interviews with Wrestlingstars

Postby Bernd Lorenz aka Tazzmaschine » 17.02.2012, 07:50

Can you please tell the fans who you are?
I'm "The Fighting Irish" Rhia O'Reilly! I am a female professional wrestler based in the UK!

Rhia ,how do you come to the decision to be a female wrestler?
I started watching wrestling when I was a teenager and was a huge fan. I always enjoyed watching the Divas matches and thought they were really cool however it wasn't until Trish Stratus came along that my interest in womens wrestling changed. At first I hated her so much and as she developed as a performer I grew to love her and be a huge fan. I was inspired by what a huge reaction she gained form the audience whether they loved her or hated her and her along with the other Divas of that time such as Victoria (now Tara in TNA), Molly Holly and Lita made me realise that there really was a place for women in wrestling and they too could make an impact.

Who is or was your coaches in Wrestling and how was the training for you?I saw thats you trained by Lance Storm?
I originally trained with Lance Storm at the Storm Wrestling Academy in Calgary and it was an amazing experience. I found it really difficult to begin with and I think training every day was very beneficial to me. When I returned to the UK I trained with Justin Richards until last year when he stepped away from wrestling training however I still contact him when I need advise. Now I try to train in a variety of places as I think you learn different things and styles from different people however I have to say the Knight Family at WAW how been the most influential trainers recently.

In your opinion, what is the most challenging aspect of the training need to become a professional wrestler?